– Extracted and modified from DPI

Region Seven (Cuyuni-Mazaruni) to get four new schools through its 2021 National Budget allocation.

Regional Executive Officer (REO) Mr. Kerwin Ward said sums were allocated for schools at Dagg Point, St. Martin’s, Waramadong and Kurutuku.

The construction of schools would create more learning spaces and better delivery of education.

A nursery school will be built at Dagg Point and primary schools at St. Martin’s, Waramadong and Kurutuku.

The REO stated, “In Waramadong, the school has outgrown its existence of over 60 years and so its structure is at its toll hence our decision to establish a new school there.  The one at Dagg Point – it is due to its vastly developing community and a school is absent, absolutely none and so the students from Dagg Point have to travel from Bartica to get to school.”

He explained that because of this, attendance from Dagg Point students is low, as the transportation costs weigh heavily on the parents.

It was highlighted that between Regions One, Seven, Eight and Nine, 239 schools serve 32,603 learners. However, most of the schools are primary schools. There are 13 secondary schools which are located as follows: three each in Regions One, Seven and Eight and four in Region Nine.

The Education Ministry has allocated some $10 million for feasibility studies for the construction of new schools in the hinterland and far flung communities.

By admin